Trip to the Market: Submitted by a Reader

March 7, 2011 at 5:00 pm 8 comments

The below story was submitted in the Leave Your Story section of this website by a reader.  It’s a short tail of a simple act that resulted in a significant reaction of appreciation and generosity.   It’s a great example as to how easy and rewarding random acts of humanity can be.

“While standing in the check-out line at a supermarket, I observed a woman ahead of me figuring out whether she had enough money to pay for the items she had picked up. There was a gentleman with her. The conversation between them indicated he was an acquaintance who had given her a ride to the supermarket in his vehicle and she, in return, was going to pay for items he wanted from the supermarket. Now it appeared she didn’t have enough money to pay for all they had picked up and she was apologizing to him because they needed to put back some items. She expressed how appreciative she was that he had given her a ride and promised him she would make up for it at another time.

There was nothing extravagant about the scant purchase they were attempting to make and it broke my heart that they couldn’t pay for it. I told the cashier I would pay for the items they were deleting from their order and asked her to ring up the items with my order. The faces of that man and woman lit up as they expressed disbelief that someone was actually doing that for them and they both gushed words of appreciation.”

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Half for me and Half for the Homeless

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Matt  |  March 9, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    Thanks for the read. I enjoyed reading through your blog and posts.

    Thanks!

    Reply
  • 2. Jackie Paulson 1966  |  April 13, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    Please add my stylish blogger award to your sidebar, stop by my blog and add it…thanks and have a great day Jackie 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. mmmmmwww  |  November 27, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Nice post. Here is a film about kindness and generosity from strangers. Check it out!! http://americanbearfilm.com/

    Reply
  • 4. heather1000  |  August 25, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    Hi there – I just started a new blog with a similar theme because I’m looking for like-minded bloggy friends. I’ve added you to my ‘follow’ list so I can keep up with your posts.

    Reply
  • 5. amandam252  |  September 20, 2013 at 11:29 pm

    Such an amazing story! Thank you for sharing! I hope you can continue posting such amazing stories again. Thank you!
    Check out my blog? spreadingkindness.wordpress.com
    Thanks!

    Reply
  • 6. lovetheoneinfront  |  October 28, 2013 at 1:50 pm

    It’s really amazing what small acts (or even not so small) can do for people! and seeing their faces light up is so just encouraging and inspiring for you! I’m so happy to see you doing this and just want to say I’m so proud and encouraged after reading this!

    Keep it on!

    #lovetheoneinfront

    Reply
  • 7. Brentlee Ryan  |  January 2, 2015 at 4:09 pm

    I love this. I have been looking at things for a little while about random acts of kindness. You see, I have a blog that every week posts a new adventure challenge and recently I posted one about random acts of kindness.
    http://makeyourownadventures.blogspot.com/2014/12/everyday-adventure-challenge-9.html
    So I have been looking for ideas and stories from people that are frequently doing them. I love this site, especially the “Leave your story” section, but I am sad to see that there have been no posts for a while now. Put you can be sure I will stop back in the future in hopes of more posts. Keep up the kindness.

    Reply
  • 8. gregoryduke38687  |  April 8, 2016 at 1:21 pm

    :):)u7b49u5f85u4e5fu662fu4e00u500bu5b78u7fd2u7684u904eu7a0bu5462!!!u5f9eu4e2du80fdu5920u5b78u6703u4e00u4e9bu6771u897f~u9019u4e9bu6771u897fu4e5fu6703u4 Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 54,809 hits

